Friendsgiving Festivities & Food

Thanksgiving and I have a love-hate relationship. I love gathering together and giving thanks with family and friends – and the excuse it provides to cook and enjoy tasty food – but it pains me to think of the incredible amount of animal-based dishes consumed in the U.S. during this time of the year. Thanksgiving can, however, also prove a natural opportunity to share information and perspective about my own personal eating habits as I contribute tasty and conversely vegan dishes to the party.

This past Saturday, I was blessed to be able to celebrate Friendsgiving with thirty of my closest Colorado pals. After signing up to bring an app and a side of sweet potatoes, I proceeded to spend too much time being torn between sure go-to’s and the chance to try something new. I opted for a slightly more involved but seasonal favorite (that I shamelessly stole from my awesome aunt who made it special for me last Thanksgiving) alongside a sweet but simple newbie. Links to the original recipe posts are included below!

Lentil Mushroom Walnut Balls with Cranberry-Pear Sauce

These delightfully festive balls are hearty, herby, and flavorful, and can serve as a finger food app or savory side – with or without the sweet sauce.

Sweet Potato Casserole with Candied Pecans

This casserole was not only a breeze to make, but it turned out to be just the right balance of sweet and savory. It functions as the perfect alternative to the typical buttery, sugary, desert-like dishes of it’s kind that sometimes disguise the already rich taste of sweet potatoes with loads of extra calories.

Leave a Reply

